Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
You may submit a letter to the Clerk of Court stating that you plead not guilty. You will need to include your name, current address and telephone number on your letter. Your not guilty plea must be filed with the Clerk of Court prior to the court date listed on your citation.
These are available Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. in the St. Croix County Clerk of Courts office. If you wish to order a copy by mail, please submit a written request including your name and case number to:
Clerk of Circuit CourtFamily Division1101 Carmichael RoadHudson, WI 54016
You must include a check or money order payable to the Clerk of Circuit Court. (Copies are $1.25 per page and an additional $5.00 for a certified copy.) Please allow two weeks for processing.
If you do not know your case number, you can use the Wisconsin Court System or submit a written request listing the names of both parties involved in the case and the year the case was filed. You should include an additional $5.00, search fee, if you want us to determine your case number.
A good place to start is the St. Croix County Clerk of Courts office. You can use the public access computers or view the actual records involved. You can get useful information from the file and make copies of any documents that will help you clear your credit. There is a charge of $1.25 per page for copies.
Small Claims, divorce / legal separation forms and modification packets for family and paternity matters are available at the St. Croix County Clerk of Court office.
You may conduct a search by looking on the wicourts.gov for State liens and contact the Register of Deeds for Federal liens.
If you answered yes to any of the following questions, you could be eligible for Crime Victim Compensation.
Are you any of the following:
If the victim was injured in a car accident caused by a drunk driver, the victim must have been:
If you are a victim of a crime you can receive up to $40,000 for any one injury or death, including:
Note: The State of Wisconsin pays only those out-of-pocket expenses that are not paid or payable by a private or group insurance plan, public funds, or any other source, including the offender. If you receive monies from the offender or a third party through restitution or any civil action, you must re-pay the state for any monies paid out on your behalf.
Being a witness may not be convenient for you. Bringing a case to trial takes time. To protect every person's basic rights under the law, the criminal justice system has many steps. Your patience and cooperation make the system work.
Contact the Department's Division of Narcotics Enforcement at 800-NAB DRUGS: 800-622-3784. Callers may remain anonymous.
Call 911. All law enforcement agencies within St. Croix County are dispatched through the St. Croix County Emergency Communications Center. The Emergency Communications Center is the best place to start, as the Telecommunicators can assess the nature of your call and send the appropriate agency depending upon circumstances and jurisdiction.
Yes. There is no charge for emergency 911 calls.
Yes. St. Croix County Emergency Communications subscribes to a translation service, which provides access to interpreters who speak many languages. These services are available 24 hours every day.
Our 911 center is equipped with a Telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD). This device will detect an incoming call from a device used by the hearing impaired and allows them to report an emergency via a keyboard device directly to a 911 Telecommunicator.
Many times your address and telephone number are provided by the 911 system. The Telecommunicator will always ask you to confirm your address and phone number.
Call 911. If your initial report is made immediately following an incident, an officer is dispatched to the scene or location of the incident. The responding officer will make a determination on what sort of follow-up action is required.
Absolutely! Officers cannot be everywhere at once. Law enforcement depends on citizens calling to report crimes or suspicious activity. The Telecommunicator that takes your call will ask questions about the activity and descriptions of the people or vehicles involved. You may also be asked if an officer may contact you to follow up.
Anytime you feel an emergency response is needed. Generally this involves threats to life, health and property. This includes incidents that are happening, incidents that just happened or when you have suspect information.
Do not call for any of the following reasons:
If you accidentally dial 911 or hear the Telecommunicator answer “911 Emergency, How may I assist you?” Please do not hang up. All you need to do is explain that you have dialed the wrong number. The Telecommunicator may confirm with you by asking a few questions, to ensure you are safe and that there is no problem. If you do hang up without talking to a Telecommunicator the following will occur:
When contacting 911 have the following information:
911 is an emergency telephone number that provides expedient access to law enforcement, fire and rescue departments and emergency medical services. 911 is the number most people in the U.S and some in International countries call to get help in a police, fire or medical emergency. A 911 call goes over dedicated phone lines to the 911 answering point closest to the caller, and trained personnel then send the emergency help as needed.
Enhanced 911, or E911, is a system which routes an emergency call to the 911 center closest to the caller, and automatically displays the caller’s phone number and address. The 911 Telecommunicator will typically ask the caller to verify the information, which appears on his or her computer screen.
At times, during emergency situations such as traffic accidents, you may not know your exact location. The Telecommunicator will ask you a series of questions to help determine your exact location. When calling from a landline or a mobile phone Telecommunicators will be able to determine your general location. You will be asked to provide more detailed information if needed.
Telecommunicators are trained to get as much information as possible. Questions are asked to obtain details related to your emergency. Depending on the nature of the call questions may be asked in order to help provide the caller with first aid instructions, life and personal safety instructions, the severity of injury, locations, people/property involved, etc. The information provided by callers will assist the responders in determining what they will need in order to keep others safe and out of harm’s way. Telecommunicators are trained to multi-task and will often be dispatching emergency response units while talking to you.
Many of us use our cell phones, hang up and do not lock the key pad. Many cell phones are preprogrammed to call 911 when a quick key or the “9” key is pressed. Be sure to lock your key pad so 911 is not accidentally dialed.
To report a dead deer please call the St. Croix County Non-Emergency Dispatch at 715-386-4701.
Please visit the Employment Opportunities section on the St. Croix County website.
The Department strives to kill all noxious weeds within the County ROW upon discovery. Under Wisconsin §66.0407 - Noxious weeds are defined as Canada thistle, leafy spurge, field bindweed, any weed designated as a noxious weed by the department of natural resources by rule, and any other weed the governing body of any municipality or the county board of any county by ordinance or resolution declares to be noxious within its respective boundaries.
Various groups (WisDOT, WCHA, DNR, etc.) are developing “Best Management Practices” to guide local units of government in Wisconsin with identifying and controlling invasive plant species in the right-of-way as well as to educate and inform land owners. These practices will appear odd to the traveling public as there will be areas of the ROW that will be treated differently than the surrounding ROW with regard to mowing, cutting, and height of vegetation due to the preventative measures needed to accomplish these BMP goals.
The St. Croix County Highway Department is not responsible for damage to vehicles caused by loose gravel or shoulder material kicked up by motorists. These are categorized as typical road hazards and are not reimbursable. Motorists that receive damage to vehicles while traveling need to report their loss to their insurance companies. Insurance is a requirement to drive on Wisconsin highways.
The Department erects temporary signs when normal or routine maintenance activities are occurring to warn motorists to take appropriate caution/action.
If you have any questions, please contact the St. Croix County Highway Department at 715-245-4200.
The St. Croix County Highway Department adopted a County Tourist Directional Sign program in September, 2017. Please click on the link for more information.
County TODS Program (PDF)
Landowners need to be aware of the dangers that highway encroachments may present. An encroachment is any prohibited use or activity by property owners within the highway ROW restricting the full use or purpose for which the ROW was established. Encroachments may include, but are not limited to, improperly located mailboxes, trees, signs, crops, fences, driveway headwalls, etc. within highway ROW. Dangerous situations arise from signs and objects placed in vision triangles and along highways and may add unnecessary liability to the landowner. Decorative rocks and modifications to driveways also present a hazard in the clear zone and ditches of highways. Any excavation or activity within the ROW of any highway requires a permit from the agency that has jurisdiction of that highway.
Most recent is the encroachment of corn planted in the road Right-of-way. The height of the corn has caused the restriction of vision especially at intersections.
Refuse containers (including garbage and recycle containers) are not to be placed on the shoulder of roadways. They are best placed in the driveway to which they serve, off the shoulder line of the highway. Any encroachment should be brought to the attention of the local unit of government for corrective action. St. Croix County Highway Department does not issue written permits for the placement of containers within the public right-of-way.
Equipment operators are encouraged to drive in a courteous, law-abiding manner and respect local weight limits whenever possible. Non-agricultural vehicle operators are encouraged to respect agriculture’s right to utilize roadways, follow safe passing signs and drive in a courteous and law-abiding manner. Farm-equipment signage for areas with the greatest use would be helpful in warning vehicles of possible slow-moving or parked equipment on highways.
Farmers are not exempt from highway weight restrictions except under certain circumstances during harvest time. In reference to Wisconsin §348.17(5) annually lifts weight limits on Class A highways from September 1 to November 30 to harvest corn, soybeans, potatoes, vegetables or cranberries. The law allows weight limits to be exceeded by up to 15 percent for transport from farm field to initial storage or initial processing point. Farmers must meet all other vehicle requirements for size, operation and driver qualifications, and cannot travel on roadways or bridges with special weight restrictions or on most interstates.
In reference to Wisconsin §86, also keep in mind, any person who injures/damages any highway shall be liable in triple damages, to be recovered by the political division in charge of the maintenance on said highway, and the amount recovered shall be credited to the highway maintenance fund.
From September 1 to December 31 of each year, no permit shall be required for the transportation of corn, soybeans, potatoes, vegetables, or cranberries from the field to storage on the grower's owned or leased land, from the field to initial storage at a location not owned or leased by the grower, or from the field to initial processing in a vehicle or combination of vehicles having a registered gross weight of 50,000 pounds or more or described in s. 340.01 (24) (b) that exceeds the weight limitations under s. 348.15 by not more than 15 percent. This subsection does not apply to the national system of interstate and defense highways, except for that portion of I 39 between USH 51 and I 90/94.
Mailboxes are the only structure that private owners are allowed to install within the right-of-way without a permit as a matter of convenience to the landowners and are not as a matter of right. Neither the St. Croix County Highway Department nor U.S Postal Service issue written permits for the placement of mailboxes within the public right-of-way. Rural mailboxes are allowed on highway right-of-way as a matter of convenience to the landowners or occupants and not as a matter of right. Encroachments of any kind on the highway are strictly forbidden by Wisconsin §86.04 and Wisconsin §346.94(5)), which govern encroachments on highway right-of-way.
Mailboxes must meet minimum/maximum standards of support, setting and size. The issue of public safety will be the basis of the Department taking any action to have individuals repair, replace or relocate mailboxes. Mailbox Installation Diagram (PDF)
Reimbursement may be considered if it is determined by the supervisor that Highway Department equipment came into direct contact with the property. Although the mailbox owner may have invested considerable time and material in the mailbox installation, including a special box, support or landscaping, any reimbursement will be limited to the “standard” post and/or box found at most home stores as well as possibly up to the Department’s current manual labor rate for one (1) hour of time.
Please call 715-245-4200 if you have any questions or concerns.
St. Croix County Highway Department works to mirror the guidelines noted for State highways in regards to the placement of signs. Any signs along roadways, including political/campaign signs, garage sale, for sale, etc. pose potential hazards.
Improperly placed signs can:
Pushing snow or other materials onto or across highways from private driveways can cause accidents and injury, and is prohibited by Wisconsin §86.01, §86.07, §346.94(5), and/or §346.95.
Doing so may create potential safety concerns for the traveling public and may impede the snow and ice removal process. Snow shall not be stored in any manner, which will obstruct or limit vehicular or pedestrian vision, movement or access. Sections 17.60 of the St. Croix County Code of Ordinances and Wisconsin §86.191 prohibit obstruction of vision clearance triangles at intersections.
The jail holds persons arrested or charged with any level of offense from a misdemeanor driving offense to a serious felony as well as people convicted of a crime and serving time on a sentence. Intoxicated persons who may be a danger to themselves or others are occasionally held in the jail temporarily until transportation to a detoxification center is available. The Sheriff's Office follows an inmate classification process to determine which housing unit would be the best place to house a particular inmate in order to best maintain the safety and security of the facility.
Initial court appearance is typically at 1 p.m. the following business day after arrest. It can take 2 to 3 hours for an inmate to be released.
You must have the exact amount of money needed as officer's can not give out change. Credit cards can be used on a limited basis. Call the jail at 715-386-4752 for information.
Inmates are not allowed to receive any phone calls while in the facility. They can make collect calls from their cell block. All calls are recorded by the Jail. Inmates can request to purchase a phone time and then they can call cell phones.
If an inmate has left the St Croix County Jail and was either required to leave behind their personal belongings or did not get back all their property at release, the inmate must pick up the property themselves or designate someone else to pick up the property within 30 days of their release date. The designee must bring identification.
No items may be dropped off for inmates, except prescription medications, eyeglasses or other medical equipment (must be approved by jail nurse). The following items can be kept by inmates:
The St. Croix County Jail offers both electronic and/or ink finger printing services to citizens of Saint Croix County only. The prints performed at the Day Report Center of the jail and are taken from 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Saturday. You can also come to the main jail outside of those hours for this service.
When you report to the Day Report Center to get your fingerprints taken you must bring:
Possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon is prohibited in the St Croix County Jail, Sheriff's Office and Courthouse. [Wis. Stat. 175.60(16)(a)]
Note: The St. Croix County Jail no longer provides digital finger printing services for teaching licenses. Please contact the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction at 800-266-1027 to obtain information on where to obtain these services.
St. Croix County will pay you $20.00 for each half-day and $40.00 for each full day that you serve as a juror. You will also receive compensation for your travel to and from the court house at the rate of .51 cents per mile. When a trial is in progress, meals will be provided for you. Compensation checks are disbursed on a monthly basis.
The trial is composed of a series of events in a specific order that is determined by state law.
The Series of Events:
Your jury term will continue for one month as indicated on your jury summons. You need only report for jury service 5 times during the length of your term. However, if a particular case requires more time to conclude, your service may be more than 5 days. You are exempt from jury duty for four (4) years after your month of service.
Before the start of each jury year, the Clerk of Circuit Court draws the names of a sufficient number of eligible jurors from the master list of jurors. This selection is a random process, whereby names of potential jurors were drawn from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation’s Driver's License and Personal Identification Cardholder list.
A summons will be mailed to you approximately three weeks prior to your month of service. This notice will advise you of the dates for which you have been selected to serve. Please be sure to retain the summons and attachments as it contains important information that you will need during your month of service, including your panel member number. St. Croix County uses a mass notification system to provide jurors with up-to-date information regarding the status of jury trials. You will receive a phone call, voice mail message and/or e-mail from the court. If you do not receive an updated notification, you must call the Juror Information Line at 800-640-8524 or 715-386-4629 after 5 p.m. the evening before each scheduled trial. If you report for jury service after the message indicated it was not necessary to do so, you will not receive compensation or credit toward your service for that day.
Juror Information Line: 800-640-8524 or 715-386-4629
By law, no qualified juror is exempt or may be excused from jury service, except by order of the Court, based on a finding that jury service would entail undue hardship. Any such request must be done in writing and addressed to the attention of the jury clerk. A request for exclusion due to vacation must be made in writing, addressed to the attention of the jury clerk, well in advance of your scheduled vacation date. If you find you are ill on a day you’ve been summoned to report for jury service, you must call the office at 715-386-4629 as soon after 8 a.m. as possible.
If your residence should change during your term of jury service, we ask that you notify the Clerk of Courts office immediately.
As a juror you are in the position of responsibility and are expected to conduct yourself in such a way that no one may question your impartiality and integrity.
Some Simple Rules to Follow:
The most important qualifications of a juror are fairness and impartiality. You must lay aside all bias and prejudice. You are the foundation of our Judicial system, and your actions and decision should reflect this important rule.
Owners of a home in Wisconsin who use the home as their primary residence on January 1 (certification date) of the year in which property taxes are levied. Primary residence is defined as the home where an individual lives more than six months of the year. If they are temporarily absent, it is the home to which the owner returns. Only one primary residence may be claimed. Renters do not qualify.
In 1999 property owners filed an application for Lottery and Gaming Credit with the County Treasurer in order to have the Lottery and Gaming Credit applied to reduce the property tax bills produced in December 1999. The Lottery and Gaming Credit remains on the property tax bill unless the property no longer qualifies due to a change in use or ownership. You may have to apply for Lottery and Gaming Credit if you have purchased a home since 1999 or you now use your property as your primary residence. The Lottery and Gaming Credit appears as a credit that reduces the property taxes due on your property tax bill.
An owner who qualifies for the credit, but whose tax bill does not reflect the credit, may claim the credit until January 31 following the issuance of the tax bill with the treasurer responsible for collecting the property taxes. [s. 79.10(10)(bm) Wis Stats] You can file a late claim with the Department of Revenue from February 1 until October 1 of the year following the issuance of the tax bill.
A new owner must attest that to the best of their knowledge the previous owner owned and used the home as their primary residence as of January 1. Only in this limited circumstance may a new homeowner sign an application to receive the lottery and gaming credit. The application can be obtained from the County Treasurer. [s. 79.10(10)(bn) Wis Stats]
The Lottery and Gaming Credit stays with the property and will be deducted from the next tax payable on the next tax bill. When a property is sold the Lottery and Gaming Credit is "sold" with it. Ideally, the amount of the credit should be considered when pro-rating the property taxes between buyer and seller.
The Lottery and Gaming Credit stays with the property and will be deducted from the net tax payable on the next tax bill. Ideally, the amount of the credit should be considered when pro-rating the property taxes between buyer and seller. [s. 79.10(10)(bn) Wis Stats]
The property tax bill printed in December is based on the assessment of the property as of January 1. The taxes will be based on that assessed value. The Lottery and Gaming Credit will be deducted from the net tax payable on the next year's tax bill. Lottery and Gaming Credit will be applied only if the home is completed and occupied on January 1 of the qualification year. [ss.79.10(1)(db), (9)(bm), (10)(b) Wis Stats]
Pursuant to Wisconsin State Statute 979.01, the Medical Examiner's Office is required to investigate deaths that fall into the noted categories on our Medical Examiner page.
An autopsy will be performed when there is a need to establish or confirm a cause and manner of death for the purpose of issuing a death certificate, in cases involving criminal or suspected criminal wrongdoing, and in any case in which an autopsy is considered to be prudent at the Medical Examiner's discretion.
The Medical Examiner's Office is not designed to accommodate viewing. Arrangements can be made at the funeral home for viewing.
There is no fee for the autopsy. One copy of the investigator's report, autopsy report, and toxicology report ( when applicable) will be made available to the nearest next-of-kin at no cost, once the case is closed. There is a per page charge for all subsequent requests.
Select a funeral home and advise the funeral director of the involvement of the Medical Examiner's Office. Funeral directors are familiar with the operation of our office, and will assist you in making all arrangements for final disposition, including obtaining the death certificate. The funeral director will also pick up the decedent's personal property that is not being held as evidence. Often the deceased will be released the next day from our facility.
The death certificate should be completed within five to six days of notification of the death. The death certification is given to the Medical Examiner's Office by the funeral home for completion so it is important that a funeral home be selected. Arrangements to obtain certified copies of the death certificate are handled for the family by the funeral home.
There are currently 25 sirens in St. Croix County.
Warning sirens are maintained by each City, Village or Township.
Outdoor Warning sirens are activated by the St. Croix County Emergency Communications Center for the following reasons:
Public Health is located at our New Richmond campus within the Health and Human Services Department. See all our public health contact information.
Immunization clinics are available to the public.
View the vaccines that are available to the public.
Call Public Health at 715-246-8330 or go to the Wisconsin Immunization Registry. (Social Security or Medical Assistant number is required for this site)
Use the general complaint form.
Income eligibility and sliding fees for some services but no one is denied service because of an inability to pay. If you have questions, please contact Public Health at 715-246-8263.
An Intake Nurse is available during normal business hours who will be happy to review your situation. Contact Public Health at 715-246-8263.
Public health does not provide sports physicals or general physical exams. Contact Public Health for clinic information at 715-246-8330.
Please call Public Health at 715-246-8330 for more information.
Confidential, free or low cost reproductive health services for men and women is available from the Public Health Department.
Public Health only provides eye and hearing screenings, not complete exams. For appointments, contact Public Health at 715-246-8330.
St. Croix County Public Health investigates Indoor Air Quality complaints. Moisture and mold in your house is many times related to improper ventilation and air movement.
Depending on the nature of the problems, our Environmental Health Specialist helps with health related issues and may refer other issues. Contact Ed Thurman with questions.
Radon test kits are available from the following county offices:
If your drinking water comes from a private well and you are experiencing problems, you may find this information about drinking water helpful.
A Public Health Educator is available for education and referrals for tobacco cessation services. Contact the regional coalition at 715-485-8500.
St. Croix County Licensing and Inspections is an agent of the state for the Division of Health, Department of Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection and Department of Commerce for licensing and inspection.
Contact the Register of Deeds office for information about St. Croix County birth certificates.
The community, health care delivery systems, employers and businesses, the media, academia and the governmental Public Health Infrastructure are all stakeholders in Public Health.
The Wisconsin County Health Rankings take a broad perspective of community health, including health behaviors, health care, the physical environment, and socioeconomic factors. To compile the Rankings, the Wisconsin Population Health Institute selected a number of health determinants based on the priorities of the Wisconsin State Health Plan, scientific relevance, importance and availability of data at the county and city level. It is one tool for communities to examine community health.
The Register of Deeds office is charged with the duty of being an independent custodian of records relating to real estate. As such, the only area we can assist you in is general process questions. We cannot assist you in the actual drafting of documents. We highly recommend that you obtain legal counsel for these transactions.
Although several legal documents have been developed into “fill-in-the-blank” style forms and appear to be very easily completed, it is the answers to those fill-in-the-blank questions that are critically important. Those answers can vary widely from person to person. Determining the correct answer for your situation constitutes “legal advice” we are not licensed to practice real estate law. Even if we were, our role as custodian of the records would still prevent us from assisting in the creation of the records.
If you are borrowing money from a financial institution in order to make the purchase, a title search will be ordered by that financial institution well in advance of the closing. This search will reveal any outstanding liens.
Strictly speaking, the answer is “yes”. Practically speaking, however, the answer is probably “no”. The real estate records in the Register of Deeds office are open for public inspection. However, unless you are familiar with how real estate records are organized and how to perform a “Grantor/Grantee” and a “Tract Index” search, it will be difficult for you to find the information you want. Additionally, there may be documents on file with other county offices that may impact the property you are interested in.
It is our experience that the expertise a professional title searcher offers is well worth the money you will spend – especially when you compare it to the value of the transaction you are about to enter.
No. The Register of Deeds office is not authorized to render opinions regarding the status of title. Professional title examiners or abstractors use the records in our office as well as searching records in other county offices to determine if the title is good and clear.
Visit our How to Change Your Deed to Reflect Your New Name page for more information about this.
According to a member of the Probate and Real Property Section of the Wisconsin State Bar Association that we conferred with, the answer is “No.” The trust remains in effect. However, it is prudent to review the trust with your attorney periodically to determine if modifications to the trust would be advisable.
Under Wisconsin law, you only ever receive one deed to your property and you should have received it shortly after you closed on your property. If you take a look at your deed, you will notice that your name appears as a “grantee” but the bank is never mentioned. So, when you pay your mortgage in full, it is not necessary to update your deed.
What does need to be done is to have a “Satisfaction of Mortgage” document recorded with the Register of Deeds office. Financial institutions are required to record such a document within a specified timeframe. If you received a “Satisfaction of Mortgage” endorsed with a time, date and document number from a Register of Deeds office, nothing further needs to be done. If you have not received the endorsed satisfaction, you should check with your lender to be certain they processed the appropriate paperwork.
Find more information about Federal Income Tax Liens on our Federal Income Tax Lien page.
See information about legal descriptions on the Legal Description of Property page.
No, the displayed caller ID is provided solely to let the recipient know the call is from St. Croix County.
While the SCC-Alert provides all the necessary technology to send the information out we can not guarantee you will receive notification in all cases. Disasters and emergencies are chaotic and unpredictable, notification is dependent on external providers such as your wireless carrier or email delivery service outside the county's control. The alert notification system uses several means of communications to try to ensure that should any one communication method, technology, or delivery option be unavailable to reach residents, other methods will be used to improve the likelihood that citizens will receive the message.
To update your existing information visit the smart911 website.
Go to the smart911 website and register your contact information.
When a serious incident occurs that meets the criteria for sending out an alert to the public, emergency dispatchers will gather the necessary information and push out an alert to the affected area. Alerts can be sent out county-wide to everyone who has opted-in to the system, or to a specific area or neighborhood for more localized events.
SCC-Alerts will be sent only sparingly. The number of alerts you receive will depend on the frequency of critical incidents in your neighborhood. Emergency alerts will only be sent when there is a potential threat to life and/or property or local authorities determine circumstances warrant notification. This system is not intended to bombard you with information.
Yes. The information you provided in the past is no longer available. We are asking all residents to sign up with current information.
The personal information you provide is used only to notify you for official communications and to support St. Croix County's emergency services.
Your information is not used for marketing purposes and will not be sold to telemarketers or data-mining organizations. A variety of "opt-in" mechanisms are available to ensure you are getting just the messages you want to receive, delivered via the devices and communication modes that you chose.
The system utilizes the highest standards in physical and computer security technologies and conducts regular audits to ensure all information is kept secure. Privacy policies are also outlined in the Terms and Conditions you review when you sign up to receive notifications.
If you choose to provide the additional information in the Emergency Preparedness section, authorities may use this information during 911 calls, Emergency Planning, and to provide statistics for planning purposes.
Emergency alerts are sent 24/7 when there is an immediate threat to life and/or property. The alerts may include information for your area concerning flooding events, lost or missing people, public safety risks and other emergency notifications from your public safety officials.
Once you have signed up online and confirmed your contact information within the system, you are ready to receive alerts.
When emergencies happen, be the first to know. St. Croix County uses SCC-Alerts to send official, real-time alerts to the public with information about potentially life-saving actions they may need to take to keep themselves and their families safe or information from local authorities about a critical situation.
Residents who have a landline phone may receive alerts. However, there are strict rules governing when St. Croix County can use this contact information to send out an alert. Extremely critical alerts containing potentially life-saving information will be sent, as well as information that local authorities have deemed necessary. In order to ensure that you are able to get all emergency alerts we recommend that you sign up. If you do not register your contact information you will not receive alerts on your preferred devices and may miss out on receiving important information.
Visit the Wisconsin Department of Justice Concealed Carry page for more information.
Find information about obtaining a drivers record on the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation Obtaining Driver Record Information page.
You can find your crash report on the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation Crash Reporting page.
See information about child safety seats on the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation Child Safety Seats page.
Register your ATV, snowmobile or boat on the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources website.
The St. Croix County Government Center NO LONGER services vehicle licensing, titling or registration. The Hudson DMV is now a full service location, and parties can now get all requested applications and / or items at the Hudson DMV Counter, located at 2100 O’Neil Road, Hudson, WI 54016. Please visit the DMV Website or call the Automated help line: 608-266-1466 if you have further questions.
Find information about being fingerprinted on our Getting Fingerprinted for Your Job page.
Find information about how to file a late accident report on the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation Crash Reporting page.
Use the Wisconsin Court System Circuit Court Access website to check if you have an active warrant against you.
If the St. Croix County Sheriff’s Office is holding found or seized property, contact the evidence custodian to ensure that certain requirements have been met for release or call 715-381-4354.
Find the rights of a tenant and a landlord on the State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Landlord / Tenant Guide page.
The most effective recycling occurs when there is a recycling bin right next to a trash bin. This provides convenience for guests to recycle and makes them think twice before throwing something in the trash. So, estimate how many trash bins you have and rent the same number of event recycling bins!
The event recycling bins come with the main x-frame base, a lid, 2 bags per bin, and stakes (upon request).
The event recycling bins can be rented out for any event, indoor or outdoor. Some common events include:
Event recycling bins are reserved on a first come, first serve basis. We recommend calling us at least a few days ahead of your event if you only need a few and ideally a month ahead of time if you need more than 10 bins. Just a reminder that the bins can only be picked up and dropped off Monday - Friday, so keep that in mind when calling us to reserve the bins.
Event recycling bins can be picked up and dropped off at the Ag Service Center in the Resource Management Division office in Baldwin. The address for the Ag Service Center is 1960 8th Avenue, Baldwin and the office is open Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
As a member of society you and/or your family have the right to feel safe at home, work, and in the community. If someone is violating these rights, you need to take appropriate actions to protect yourself and/or your family.
Depending upon your personal situation there are three types of restraining orders that can help protect you:
If a Temporary Restraining Order is ordered by the court, a court date will be set for an injunction hearing. The petitioner should then contact law enforcement to have them serve the papers on the respondent. Never give the respondent the legal papers yourself. At the Injunction hearing, as the petitioner, you must appear in court and may bring others/advocates for moral support. Both the petitioner and the respondent have the opportunity to be heard at the injunction hearing. If the facts show domestic abuse, harassment, or child abuse has occurred, the court may issue an injunction for a period of not more than two years. The respondent may or may not be present at the hearing but must be served notification of the hearing.
No. But, you may wish to hire an attorney or speak to an attorney prior to the hearing.
No, however, the respondent may hire an attorney to represent him/her. If so, you may wish to reconsider obtaining legal counsel. A free attorney will not be appointed for the respondent. This is not a criminal proceeding.
Yes. If the respondent violates the order, once it is in effect, report it to law enforcement immediately and every time. Then the respondent may be arrested for breaking the order and may face criminal charges.
The penalties for the violation of domestic abuse and child abuse are imprisonment not to exceed nine months, a fine not to exceed $1,000, or both. The penalties for the violation of harassment orders are imprisonment not to exceed 90 days, a fine not to exceed $1,000, or both.
Yes. Before a hearing can be held, at which time the temporary restraining order can be replaced with an injunction which can be in effect for up to two years, the abuser must be served with a copy of the temporary restraining order/injunction petition. The respondent has the right to attend the hearing.
No. If you are seeking a domestic abuse restraining order, the court is prohibited from ordering any custody, physical placement or child support orders. A separate action may need to be filed in Family Court. You may need an attorney to assist with issues about custody/physical placement.
The temporary restraining order/injunction only restricts the respondent for making contact with you and does not include the children, unless a separate child abuse temporary restraining order/injunction order has been filed on behalf of the child(ren). At the injunction heating, custody or physical placement issues may come up. By law, when issuing a domestic abuse temporary restraining order or injunction, the court may not address these issues. It is possible for a court to address issues regarding the children at a harassment injunction hearing because the law does not say the court is prohibited from doing so.
It is preferable to arrange any exchange of the child(ren) through the party so that there is no direct contact between the two of you. Many abusers use child exchange contacts as an opportunity to abuse the victim. Third party exchanges in public places help to eliminate this.
If the emotional abuse includes threats, you may be able to get a domestic abuse restraining order. In addition, the domestic abuse restraining order law says if the person may engage in domestic abuse, you can obtain a restraining order. The laws are extremely specific about the types of abuse a person must have been subjected to in order to obtain an injunction. For a person living with someone who is psychologically or emotionally abusive, the mental abuse can be equally, if not more painful, then physical abuse. The domestic abuse restraining order law says the respondent must have engaged in certain physical abuse or the threat of any behavior.
If your abuser engages in a course of action, which harasses and intimidates and serves no legitimate purpose, you may be able to get a harassment restraining order.
Sometimes. You will want to make sure the respondent has been served and you would not be in any danger in going home. You can ask for police assistance in doing this, but often the police cannot immediately get to the task of serving the respondent with the restraining order and placing you in possession of your home. You may need to stay someplace else until the police can help you.
You are the best enforcer of this order. Every time the abuser makes contact with you, 911 should be called immediately. Not calling the police or only occasionally, gives the abuser confusing messages about the validity of the temporary restraining order/injunction. The abuser will begin to believe it is all right to have contact sometimes. Also, sometimes officers do not know about or ignore the provisions of the domestic abuse law, which says the order is not void if the petitioner allows contact.
At the injunction hearing when you are giving testimony, you will want to include any special requests, such as him/her staying away from you at your place of residence or work. If you happen to see each other at either of these places and your abuser does make contact with you, call the police immediately because it would be a violation of the temporary restraining order/injunction.
A petitioner can file a domestic abuse temporary restraining order or injunction in the county she or he is temporarily residing in or in the county where the respondent lives or in the county in the county where the incident occurred. A petitioner can file a harassment temporary restraining order or injunction in the county where the petitioner lives or in the county where the respondent lives or in the county in which the incident occurred.
The law says the respondent is prohibited from initiating direct contact with the petitioner. If the petitioner of a domestic abuse restraining order allows the respondent admittance into her or his home, the restraining order does not become null and void. The police are to enforce any violations of that order. However, if the petitioner continues to initiate contact, the police may believe that she or he is not serious about the injunction. The police can then arrest the petitioner and the prosecutor can charge the petitioner with aiding and abetting the violation of the restraining order.
If the injunction is for less than 4 years, the petitioner can get it extended for up to two years from the date it is first entered. The respondent must be notified once the extension is granted.
The local municipality mails out the property tax bills in mid-December.
If you do not receive your tax bill, please call the County Treasurer's office at 715-386-4645. Failure to receive a property tax bill does not relieve the taxpayer of the obligation to pay their taxes on time.
The first installment or full payment option is due on or before January 31.
No. Please contact the local treasurer of your municipality for options to pay your first installment.
If the first installment is not paid by January 31, the entire unpaid balance becomes delinquent and is subject to interest and penalty retroactive to February 1 at a rate of 1.5% per month until it is paid in full. Delinquent real estate tax payments are payable to the St. Croix County Treasurer.
Property tax payments are considered timely if they are received on or before the respective due dates according to Wisconsin State Statute 74.69(1). We urge taxpayers to mail payments several days early to avoid postal delay when using community mail boxes.
No, but we encourage taxpayers to make whatever payments they can to reduce their outstanding balance as well as the amount of interest and penalties that will be assessed.
The second installment of property taxes is due on or before July 31 to the County Treasurer.