Patrol Division

The patrol division is lead by Lieutenant Jason Sykora. It is the most visible division of the Sheriff’s Office and is on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. 

Duties & Responsibilities

This division consists of 1 lieutenant, 5 sergeants, and 24 deputies, along with an authorized strength of 16 auxiliary deputies. The men and women of the patrol division are the people who are out patrolling the highways, responding to emergency 911 and non-emergency calls, and respond to calls for service from the public. 

The patrol division is responsible for patrolling approximately 730 square miles consisting of a population of around 85,000.  They're usually the first contact the citizens have with the Sheriff’s Office. Approximately 12,000 incidents are handled by the patrol division each year.


Patrol deputies have specialized in various types of training including:

  • 1st Responder
  • Animal Resource Training
  • Boat Accident Investigation
  • Crash Reconstruction
  • Crisis Intervention Training
  • Defense and Arrest Tactics
  • Emergency Response Unit (ERU)
  • Emergency Vehicle Operations
  • Intoximeter Training
  • K9
  • Law Enforcement Snowmobile Safety
  • Standardized Field Sobriety Testing